Berkeley Lab

Soren Prestemon Elected as APS Fellow

Soren Prestemon

Soren Prestemon. Credit: Berkeley Lab/Paul Mueller

Soren Prestemon, ATAP’s Deputy Division Director for Technology, has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

He was nominated by the APS Division of Physics of Beams “for multiple, significant contributions to the research and development of high performance resistive, permanent magnet, and superconducting magnet systems for science applications from light-sources to high-energy physics.”

Prestemon heads our Superconducting Magnet Program. He also serves as Director of the multi-institutional U.S. Magnet Development Program and of the ATAP-Engineering Division Berkeley Center for Magnet Technology.

“I appreciate Soren’s leadership over many years in the Laboratory and community, establishing advanced magnets as a key driver of future HEP capabilities and also of the FES long range plan for fusion,” said ATAP Division Director Cameron Geddes.

Prestemon is the 30th member of ATAP and its predecessor organizations to receive this honor.

He is one of five Berkeley Lab researchers elected to APS Fellowship this year. Wanli Yang of the Advanced Light Source was also honored, and Naomi Ginsberg, Lane Martin, and Kristin Persson were nominated through UC-Berkeley. The honor recognizes exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise.