Cameron Geddes is a Senior Scientist who joined Berkeley Lab in 2000 while a graduate student at UC Berkeley, where he earned his Ph.D. in physics in 2005. He served as Deputy Director for Experiments in the Berkeley Lab Laser Accelerator (BELLA) Center, developing plasma accelerators to extend the frontiers of high-energy physics, for photon sources and applications. Previous work included inertial fusion and magnetized plasmas. His work has been recognized by the U.S. Particle Accelerator School Prize, the APS-DPP John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research, Fellowship in the APS, and the APS DPP and Hertz dissertation awards.

Asmita Patel leads a multidisciplinary team that includes Strategic Planning, Finance, Administrative Services, Environment Health & Safety, HR, Facilities, and Communications. She leads the annual Multi-Lab Safety Week, co-chairs ATAP’s IDEA Committee, and serves on the Labwide IDEA Chairs Council and the Mentoring Committee. She has twice received a team Laboratory Director’s Award for Exceptional Achievement. Asmita earned a Ph.D. in molecular biology from UC Riverside, conducted postdoctoral research at UC Santa Barbara, and earned an executive MBA from the Haas School of Business, UC Berkeley. She came to Berkeley Lab with 16 years’ experience in biotech, healthcare, and diagnostics in the private sector.

Soren Prestemon joined Berkeley Lab in 2001 after completing his Ph.D. at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory at Florida State University. His research has focused primarily on magnetic systems for a wide range of science applications, including charged-particle accelerators for high-energy physics, magnetically confined fusion, condensed-matter physics, and synchrotron radiation facilities. Soren oversees the interdivisional Berkeley Center for Magnet Technology, the multi-laboratory DOE-OHEP US Magnet Development Program, and LBNL’s contributions to the High Luminosity LHC Upgrade Project. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society.